Skip to content

Making games with Corona SDK

27/07/2011

This is not a tutorial but an opinion on why I decided to use Corona SDK to make my game.

First, I’m not a programmer at all. I’m an art director. The last time I had touched code, it was back in 2002 with Macromedia Flash. Back then, I really liked the idea of making interactive graphics using code. But my career moved on and I focused my skills on graphics, leaving the code to “those who know”.

Back in february, when I decided to start making mobile games (I have been thinking about that for 2 years), I naturally started to learn Objective-C, the native language of iOS apps. I didn’t know what I was doing…
Obj-C is hell! And I’m comforted in my opinion because a lot of professional programmers say so. I felt very desperate as I couldn’t get any work done and my dreams of making the next Angry Birds was flying away.

Fortunately, I heard about Corona SDK by Ansca Mobile in a TouchArcade forum. I’ve downloaded the SDK (which is a free trial for unlimited time) and looked into to know what it was made of. My first surprise was that I could understand the language! Corona uses LUA language, which looked very familiar to me : Flash ActionScript !

Second surprise was the easy-to-use API library who let’s you create game prototypes in hours. Now take that Obj-C !

Third surprise was the complete physics engine (the famous Box2D). I was able to create my first level with a character jumping around in 15 minutes! 15 MINUTES!!! And remember, I not even a developer.

From there, I decided to go full time learning LUA which took me around 2 months. At the same time, I was developing my game step-by-step. Then, I had this moment I said to myself : “Alright, now I’m confident I can make a full game with this SDK”. Next day, my studio was created.

Of course the game had something like 50 iterations since. But now it starts to look like a “real” game, with tile mapping, multi directional scrolling, sprite animations all around and retina display support! Other features such as social connectivity and in-game purchases will be implemented soon. And I know it will be a piece of cake because everything in Corona is made to ease you poor developer life. The SDK simply takes care of the boring stuff.

On top of that, you have a great community of users and Ansca employees squatting the forums, waiting to help the beginners.

Beware, I’m not saying it’s easy to develop games with Corona. I had very hard times learning the beast. I’m just saying it’s possible for anybody that have enough passion and patience!

Now go make your game!

Corona SDK by Ansca Mobile

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/07/2011 00:35

    Congrats! I’m excited to see your game! Don’t forget about us Android users too 🙂

    • 28/07/2011 01:31

      Thanks! You know, It’s a miracle the game is running smoothly on iOS. So I don’t know if it will run at all on random Android devices 😉 Anyway, we’re focusing development on iOS but we will definitively port the game on other platforms if it’s doing well! I’m just praying that Ansca brings the PC and Mac builder… That would be awesome!

  2. 28/07/2011 06:28

    Hey,

    Really great read – I’m sad I haven’t had time to jump in as a BETA tester but will look forward to playing it when it’s released 🙂

Leave a Reply

