Skip to content

When you must change your direction

11/09/2011

Edit : video removed.

Right now we have 5 levels in the BETA test. I played them like 1000 times to test the collisions etc… The other day, I asked my wife (which is not at all a gamer) to playtest some level and she told me :

You know, I don’t feel like I’m playing a game but much more like I’m undergoing it.

It took me 3 days to really understand what she was talking about. But I knew she said something important. If my game makes people inconfortable, then something must be wrong.

Actually, in my game, most of the time, you try to figure out your way through the labyrinth in puzzle mode. Which is not that fun.
That’s why I added markers in the puzzle mode so you have objectives to reach. You’re not anymore walking around in the labyrinth looking for something you don’t even know it exists.

But that’s not all. What she said also made me rethink my whole level design politic. Before, the part where you had to think was the puzzle mode. Now, I want to shift the focus on physics puzzle in the platformer mode, which is a lot more fun!

So I came out with this level :

[Video removed]

See? Less labyrinth, more fun!

So, thanks my love ❤

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/09/2011 15:35

    classe! Impatient d’y jouer

Leave a Reply

